Honoring our Polk Pioneers

Since 1975, the PCHA has supported the collection of oral histories of Polk County residents. Member organizations of the PCHA Heritage Partner Committee seek potential candidates who are 75 years or older and have lived in Polk County for 50 years or more. These Polk Pioneers participate in an interview to document their lives and contributions to our rich history. The highlight of each year’s PCHA Annual Meeting & Luncheon is the introduction of our Polk Pioneers, and this year was no exception!

Due to the previous years’ pandemic closure, we honored Pioneers representing three years. Congratulations to our Polk Pioneers for 2020, 2021 and 2022:  Walter Covington Jr., S.L. Frisbie IV, Ora H. Greene, Edgar T. Pickett Jr., Leslie G. Pickett, Harriet Rewis Rust, and Herbert L. Woodard.

Standing left to right: Incoming PCHA President, Lloyd Harris; Pioneer Herbert L. Woodard (Winter Haven); Representing Pioneer Walter Covington (Winter Haven) who could not be in attendance, Sherry Lyndell and Shirley Johnson; Miss Polk County, Eryn Lalonde. Seated: Pioneer Edgar T. Pickett Jr. (Lakeland); Pioneer Leslie G. Pickett (Bartow); Pioneer Ora H. Greene (Winter Haven); Pioneer S.L. Frisbie IV (Bartow); Pioneer Harriet Rewis Rust (Davenport).

PCHA Annual Meeting & Luncheon


After a two-year hiatus, PCHA members were happy to be “together again” for the Annual Meeting & Luncheon on June 16. Attendees enjoyed great fellowship and food at the beautiful Idlewood Venue in Bartow. During the business meeting, reports were presented from the President, Treasurer, Heritage Partner Committee and Nominating Committee. 

A motion was approved to accept the following revisions to the ByLaws: Section 1, Article 1:  Insert the PCHA Mission Statement Section  2, Article 1:  Replace the language about dues with the following sentence:  The Association’s Board of Directors will establish classifications of membership and annual dues for   each classification as deemed appropriate.

Motions were approved to accept the 2022-23 slate of officers (Lloyd Harris, President; Jennifer Bush, Vice President; Rod Hudnell, Treasurer; David H. Brewer, Assistant Treasurer; Lois Sherrouse-Murphy, Secretary; LuAnn Mims, Communications Editor) and the Board of Directors (Jennifer Bush, S.L. Frisbie IVJohn KeatingLyonal B. Lindsey Jr., Harriet Rust, Melvin Sellers, Sheila Tindle, Donald H. Wilson, Myrtice Young).  

Following the business meeting, the Polk Pioneers for 2020-2022 were honored.

Meet our Pioneers >>